64 Chevy Beater Build...

Fungi

Think Small!!!
This is my first attempt at building a model in 35 years. I have been lurking here for months learning. This is not a static model though. It's based on a 1:24th scale Losi Trail Trekker RC truck. The idea is to make the underside as scale as possible ignoring the DC motor attached to the transfer housing. The top side is a normal plastic model. I made the ladder frame, leaf springs and shackles from .063" and .125" thick Delrin sheet I cut with my laser. The wheels I made with my 3D printer. I got a Talon airbrush, and am learning to use it. On to the pictures. Looking for help and advice.

truck06_zps7da43a5d.jpg

IMG_0694_zps2cf8e905.jpg

big-chevy-8-lug-ver2jpg_zps48882a73.jpg

IMG_1779_zps68fa7383.jpg

IMG_1786_zps9c79c4ae.jpg

IMG_1852_zps38bd3a99.jpg

IMG_1853_zpsb33732ea.jpg

IMG_1870_zpscede1f28.jpg

9c99e893-17f7-4442-b801-e1cbd9ee3cfc_zps43c17542.jpg

28f6a97f-2386-4df9-9eef-02f1e7185b1d_zps98e8bd18.jpg

IMG_1893_zps158bd4d8.jpg

IMG_1896_zpseed1d26c.jpg

IMG_1900_zps030ba6fe.jpg

IMG_1901_zps41c9f819.jpg

Thanks for looking.

So I've been following this guys lead.

http://mastermodels.blogspot.com/2011/01/vw-van-painting-begins.html

On the body, I attempted the highlighting! I should get credit for that. lol I sealed it with a good coat of tamiya flat clear acrylic. This is my first use of an airbrush. :p

I learned on the rims that the hairspray dries pretty fast. How do I get the salt to stick to the hairspray while doing the large body? It's difficult to tell by the pictures in the link above details like how thick is the hairspray applied?

Thanks for any advise!

Excellent Work so far!

I'm very impressed with the quality of the printed wheels. Please, can you give me some info about the 3D printer you used?

Thanks!

Eddy.

epaulk said:
Excellent Work so far!

I'm very impressed with the quality of the printed wheels. Please, can you give me some info about the 3D printer you used?

Thanks!

Eddy.