1969 Nova SS

Junkie

Started on a 69 Nova SS this evening. My son has one 1/2 built and I'm going to catch up to him, then we'll finish together. The Firebird will be after this. I have never built a car kit before and thought that an OOB build would make sense before trying to drop the suspension on something.

Basic assembly, cleanup so far.
4194.jpg

If this is the Revell I hear they build up nicely. I have one in the stash.

Nothing beats doing a build with your children. My daughter is working on building her first kit as we speak. Will post pics of the completed build. Of course its a Nascar kit. Shes done everything herself to this point and its been a load of fun supervising. Hopen for lots of pics during this build Scott. Perhaps even a video of you and your son displaying the final build. That would be wicked cool Mate!!!!!

I have one of these Nova kits. Been saving it. I love these 68-72 Novas.

Same here. I'll be shooting some video for sure. This will be a fun way to get back into it...build one OOB.

Scott,

Will you be building the sub assemblies and then painting it or how are you doing it ? Do you put all the parts of the engine together you can of the same color until then paint that color, and for the remaining pieces of the engine you brush paint them then assemble to the solid color pieces of the engine ? I'm kind of confused as to how you guys that build each sub assembly then paint it do this. Is it you have that great of control with the airbrush that you can paint each individual piece of the engine with the color it calls for or do you mask and paint piece by piece by color or ??????

I'm going to build like colored sub assemblies and then paint them. So odd colored will be painted separated an attached but where masking will work I'll assemble, paint then mask and paint. Just depends.

Again, my first car, so I'm just figuring it out too.

Here's a couple pics of todays progress:

4195.jpg

4196.jpg