tamiya clear gloss?

MrNatural

my head is falling off my head
does anyone have any advice on airbrushing tamiya clear gloss? I tried for the first time today i think i rushed it and applied to much now i have run off clumps. what's a good thinning ratio?

If it's clumping, you need to dilute it more. Also, is it going over a fresh coat of paint? If so, have it let it set for over 24 hours? That can cause it to "lump" as well. I'm not sure of the mix ratio though since I've never used Tamiya's clears before.

is it better to spray thin coats like with tamiya paint or is best to go ahead and hit it with a wet coats??

What I do is wet coat after painting and before decals... the rest is thin coats to seal the decals and weatherings.

So I go by this list when I'm doing a model.
  • Pre-Construction (usually consists of cutting stuff out and sanding and sanding and sanding again)
  • Construction (Glue, fills and MORE sanding)
  • Primer
  • Pre-Shading
  • Base Coat
  • Paint
  • Wet Gloss Coat
  • Post Shadowing (if needed using the airbrush)
  • Between a Thin and Wet Gloss Coat (if Post Shadowing)
  • Decal
  • Thin Gloss Coat
  • Under-Wash (filling panel lines)
  • Post-Construction (Final Pieces, i.e. wheels, rutters, tracks, propellers)
  • Weathering Wash (water or running stains types)
  • Thin Gloss Coat
  • Chalk shading (color blending)
  • Thin matte coat
  • Chalk Weathering (Stains other weather where I like a rough look to the weathering)
  • Final thin matte coat for the finish

You know what? I re-read what you originally posted and you're saying run off clumps? Then you're spraying too much if that's the case. What I do is not GLOB the stuff on when I do a "wet coat". I just do a little more than a "thin" coat but I coat is 3 or 4 times to avoid run off build ups.