paints...

Maverick

Sorry if Im beating a dead horse here but I had a quick question. Ive been reading a lot about peoples' preferences when it comes to paints (most prefer either tamiya or vallejo it seems) but what about testors/model masters paints? Are these amateur brands compared to the other stuff? My only local hobby shop is a Hobby Lobby which is ok but limited in scale modeling selections. Most of their stuff is testors/model masters.

As far as their models go...99% Revell. Won't find anything nicer. Which brings me to another noob question...are tamiya models that much better at quadrupal the price? Why?

Thanks
!

for myself I use mainly Testors/model master paints even though the model shop sells pretty much all types. I have had no real issues with them myself and from my understanding they work fine in airbrushes but that I have no experience in myself. as far as models and which is better for me I have found they both have their strengths and weeknesses when it comes to say automotive ones revel always from all I seen have a engine and good interior detail. But my main area that I build are military and sci-fi and in that area I have had no real complaints with revell kits they are pretty detailed and the new 1/350 Bismark I got is pretty sweet for the price.

Thanks Arohk. Im really into detail but if tamiya or others are no more detailed than the $8-$20 revell models...then I guess its a no brainer!

It's still a valid question, Maverick
Me, I use acrylics for ease of cleanup. Which tends to rule out most of the Testors line

It does help if you have a good hobby store in your area for supplies like where I am they carry pretty much any brand you can think of and price wise there all within a few dollars of each other not to mention the staff is very well knowledged with the products.