Dragon 1/32 P-51

Myke

So after a detour away from aircraft, while mixing it up in the spring contest, I need to come back to the comfort zone a bit and finish off a more "comfortable" project.

Thus bringeth this....

IMG_20110703_001158.jpg

I picked this up for a steal at the local Model show along with the Blackhawk, and a 1/32 Scale Academy F-18. I had been debating on this and about 5 other projects, but after I saw this review of the fourthcoming TAMIYA 1/32 scale P-51D, I decided I better build this before it comes out, or I'll get the Tamiya version, and have wasted the money on this one. Logical thinking right? Yes it appears that Taimya, fresh off their amazing Spitfire kits, have done it again. I highly recommend checking out this review from Brett Green over at the hyperscale site.

http://www.hyperscale.com/2011/reviews/kits/tamiya60322reviewbg_1.htm

And so with a clean workbench, I head off to build an oldie but goodie.

I am by no means an expert on the P-51, and this one is going to be pretty much out of the box. OOB in this case does include rubber tires, some springs for the landing gears, a small spru of PE, and a couple pieces of metal rod that I haven't quite figure out what is for. From what I can tell, some seem to think that the detail is a little too much on this kit, but..., eh..., whatever, looks a little heavy but..., that doens't mean it'll look bad right?

The detail is SO good, that it comes pre-molded with cat hair on it.

IMG_20110702_185416.jpg

As with the Blackhwak, I'll be doing a build log here on the fantastico SMA Aircraft forum, and I think I'll throw in some video as well this time, but I'll keep them short and sweet and try to showcase the work as much as possible.

All the best everyone.

Myke

;D

Wow, myke....

That's gonna look pretty cool! The Cadillac of the sky!

Looking forward to see and watch your progress log!

Norm.

*Runs to get more popcorn*