brush painting, getting frustrated.

whiskee

ok, so for the time being I am a budget modeler. As I learn I am sticking with cheap 1/72 scale models and since I have been doing hobbies for 20+ years i have the building part down. I can scribe, scratch build, use putty etc, etc. I can even paint fine details such as cock pits, engines, and so on like a pro. However, when it comes to the part where I have to lay down a large area of paint on my planes or tanks I am failing hard. This is the part that makes my master pieces go from great, to something that looks like a 5 year old built. I enjoy small models, Ho trains, and 1/72 military stuff, I cant afford a darn airbrush and I am not even sure i want to ever even want to mess with one. Does anyone have any tips for me? I am sure i need to thin out My tamiya and humbrol paints. I am really fusterated. It sucks when you pour 20+ hours on a model and ruin it when it comes time to paint. :-[

There are lots of variables when brush painting. It sound like you have the general idea given your comment about thinning. The one thing that will make life a lot easier is a primer coat. If you can get yourself a spray can of some kind of primer or some flat base color like gray and spray the kit first your brush painting will go a lot better. All you need is a thin coat.

I have to agree with Shutterace,putting a good primer on does help a lot ,but also Tamiya paint is not really good for brushing ,I recomend Vallejo Model colours for brushing ,they go on very well and usually dont leave brush marks ;)

Chris.