New to painting

Alright the title says it all. Lol I’m new to painting models and thus far I use paint brushes(no space for spray yet). What would be a good process to get a very good finish out of that? Are there YouTube videos I can watch of step by step? As well as the decals. I want to add my decals but am afraid I’m going to ruin the paint. Any advice would be greatly welcomed. Thanks everyone and I love seeing y’all’s models.

I don't know of any YouTube videos, but I will offer a tip that you should thin your paint and apply thin coats, building up the color. Generally, painting right from the jar or bottle, the paint is too thick. It will build up in thick layers, and they tend to show brush strokes more readily.

For water-based acrylics, I use a wet palette, and I recommend one. A wet palette consists of an air/water-tight container, a sponge, and a piece of permeable paper that is the actual palette. A wet palette helps ensure a good consistency to the paint, and you can also save a batch of colors over several sessions of work.

There are a couple of good brands of wet palette. Masterson has been around for a long time, and you can get one online or via art and arts-and-craft supply stores, like Blick's, Michael's, HobbyLobby. Redgrass Games also has a very good product, and their palette paper is very fine, finer than Masterson's. I have a Redgrass palette, because they brought out a small one, about half the size of a piece of letter paper, and I liked that smaller footprint. Masterson's is 8.5x11.