Dragon Flakpanzer I

andrei383

Hi all!

I'm taking a trip back in time with my first WWII build, the Dragon 1/35th 2cm Flak 38 auf Pz. Kpfw. I Ausf. A! (phew, thats a long name! :eek:)

I just got this kit today and i couldnt resist getting started on it since its something different from my modern armor builds! one thing ive noticed is that its surely a small little thing, the lower hull just being a little longer than my Revell Luchs is wide!

DSC_4692.jpg

pics to follow once i get some glue to styrene! ;D

I have a Tristar version of one of these about 80% built. If the Dragon kit is anything like that, should be awesome!

thanks for following along guys! ;D

firstly, this is my first time building a Dragon kit and the amount of parts was incredible! 343 parts plus 216 individual tracks for such a tiny little tank! the detail, i must say, is really nice!

not much work done so far, im taking it slow to make sure i dont make a mistake (many reviewers have pointed out that Dragon's instructions contain errors in many cases).

DSC_4697.jpg

DSC_4698.jpg

some work on the trailer as well:

DSC_4695.jpg

DSC_4696.jpg

Looking good so far!

Just don't do what I did. When I built mine, I didn't bother putting any of the interior to the driver's compartment, thinking that it won't be seen once everything is put on the top.

Little did I know that the driver's compartment is open to the elements and you can see right in it.

Lesson #1....study the instructions! LOL

Oh well...I am just going to fashion a tarp from some tissue, and put it over the opening. My story will be that the crew hates picking empty 20mm shells out of their driving space....tarp keeps the shells out of it! LOL

This has always been one of my favourite Panzer I variants. Even with so few built it just looks awesome.