An easy alternative to expensive compressors

RocketSilo

I have been looking at airbrush compressors as we all enjoy to occasionally check out the latest greatest dream set ups for our painting needs.

I went by a couple local shops and was able to play with a couple nice AB specific compressors and some deeper online research,/reviews was done as well

I have come to 2 conclusions..
1)--AB compressors are expensive.!! a decent brand runs from $250 up to $800-$1200 for a high end Sil-air!

2) I have my dream setup already!!!

Tho I may have been away from the scale modeling world for quite some time and have only really got back in to it for the last month..I have been using my AB's regular for the last 5-6 years. alot of this time spent on my Model rocket hobby and general painting.

my airbrush system consists mainly of my Iwata 33l(approx 9 gallon) air tank..
There is no more silent means of airbrushing than a simple tank !

I have a cheap shop type 8 gallon compressor .. that is very loud but has been problem free for 8 years now.. I keep that in my garage/shed and use it to fill my 9 gallon AB tank,,it take approx 1 minute to fill the tank.

I purchased a few fittings to allow to to plug in and unplug my AB tank with ease.. this consists of an air chuck set, check valve(optional) and regulator.. my airbrush hose simply plugs in to the regulater,,and it plugs into the tank....I have had no need for a moisture trap as no heat or moisture is generated by the tank..however it does have a drain if needed ( and an over pressure valve).. any typical pressure tank comes with a drain and OP valve.

the tank lasts forever it seems..so much that today I conducted an experiment to see how much airbrushing this tank provides.

I filled my tank to 100 psi (the compressor will go to 120 psi but I don't have a need to max it out)I set my stopwatch up ,, set the regulator at a respectable average.. 18 psi.
I connected my AB, taped down the trigger and waited ..