Revell - Ferrari F2007 Kimi Raikonnen

Igard

I'm gonna make this Kimi Raikonnen's championship winning car.

The plan is to add a figure to the cockpit and place it in a diorama. I've never done a dio before, so I'll be learning as I go and taking my time.

Probably put the car on the track around a corner. That way, I can put one of those big racing kerbs in and some grass at the side, maybe even the edge of the gravel trap if there's room.

Might be quite a long term project this.

2012-02-05_01-17-52_466.jpg

I started painting the engine, but decided it wasn't looking so great so I stopped here. I'll be sealing it up anyway. I'm liking the carbon fibre decals, thought the fit isn't great.

2012-02-16_04-54-40_38.jpg

And here, one of the decals has broken, you can just see it on the left there. Luckily, it's on the underside.

2012-02-16_04-55-19_984.jpg

Got the lower parts all in place. I'm using Tamiya x-7, nothing else. I think I could go lighter or darker, but it all depends on what reference picture I look at. There will be some slight weathering anyway.

2012-02-16_06-06-55_716.jpg

There are footpedals!! Might have to remove these if the driver doesn't fit. They won't be seen anyway.

2012-02-16_06-07-38_967.jpg

Thanks for reading. I'm looking forward to this one. I've 'built' F1 car models before, but never to a reasonable standard, I think the last I 'built' was when I was 13. Never even painted one before!

:)

These do make nice little kits when finished ...Look forward to it :)

Chris.

Thanks for the comments guys. Hopefully I can make this an interesting one.

First of all, I notice I spelled 'Raikkonen' wrong in the title. :-[

Now, I got this Fujimi drivers kit. 1/24th scale. Anyone know any other good kits for racing figures at this scale? This was the only one I could find.

It's not bad, it even comes with a swimsuit model!!!

2012-02-18_21-51-42_475.jpg