First Armor Build - M1A2 SEP

adampolo13

Good afternoon,

I watched a documentary about the Abrams a few months ago and I just had to build one. I have put together a few aircraft and now I'm building this beast. Many thanks to Scott at Elm City, he did a great job shipping out the SEP which arrived yesterday. Here are a few pics.

M1A21.jpg

M1A22.jpg

M1A23.jpg

M1A24.jpg

Dry fit the tracks:
M1A25.jpg

(I don't like the way these tracks look so I have the bronco tracks on order which should be here in the new few days.)

I'm still very new to scale modeling so I am going to be asking for lots of advice!

Thanks again for looking!

Nice kit ...looking forward to how you get on :)

Chris.

um before you upload yer pics can you rotate them so i dont have to lay down to look ;D. simple to do just open them and hit the little arrow in teh pic viewer and it will save it,

other than that off to a good start, and rubber tracks Suck

NICE !!!

for the tracks... you could have cut and move the Idler adjustment screw a few "mm" forward... to take on the slack... and reconnect the adjuster screw with a longer piece of round stock ... but maybe there is too much slack already !!! is the number of Track shoes correct ??? or too many? Not that you will see any of this... after the side skirts are glued in place !

Abramidlerarm.jpg

UNLESS you are planning to have one or more Side panels OPENED !!! to show off your work ?

but there is nothing wrong with you adding a nice set of A.M. tracks..

Good luck with the project ! its a nice Beast ! will be following for sure !

Norm.

Adam, Norm is right you can also check the creeping death tread for reference.

well you need to make a plan first before building this beast :)

Good luck