ARMOR - Academy 1/35 M1A1

UncleDredd

Hey everyone... so I watch the vids on YouTube, and I've lurked the forums in the past, but this will actually be my first attempt at building a scale model (I'm more of a wargamer, so the stuff I've done to-date is small (1/100th) and simple). Went to Hobby Lobby today and found this on the shelves:

modelproof_zpsge7cqvwn.gif

Figured I'd use my 40% off coupon and try it out! Researching more about the tank and about this specific kit this weekend. Already seeing that maybe the tracks can be replaced with something called bigfoot kit... can you tell I'm new at this?

Wish me luck!

Nice. Good luck! I jump between wargaming and model building.

The one thing about military kits is there is an aftermarket resin or photo etch kit for nearly everything. Metal tracks, metals gun, resin turret upgrades, it just goes and goes. In sure someone makes more accurate rivets for the kit as well.

The hyper accuracy is cool if that's your thing. But going down that hole can add a lot of time to the build. That said I'm sure some of the folks here can point you to upgrade parts that'll make your life easier. New tracks, replacement barrel.

Thanks, Derek; I appreciate it. It's always nice to see the cross-over between the two hobbies... since I relocated across the country last Summer (from San Diego to Atlanta), most of my wargaming fix is found through following others on Instagram. I should get out meet some of locals, I suppose. ;)

As for the extras, I think I've settled on replacing the tracks with the Bronco AB3522 kit. Assembling it'll add some extra work, but that's something I can do while watching TV with the wife or catching up on Netflix stuff. Don't think I'll do anything else outside of what's in the box.

Thanks again!

Put together a quick unboxing video... mostly I'll do these for me to track my progress as I go, I think.

[youtube]https://youtu.be/n6ZWAZMmD2c[/youtube]