Airbrush newbie

Patras

Hi all, I've reignited my plastic modelling passion, and have realised an airbrush is crucial but I've never used one before.
I'm trying to decide between a cheaper starter kit with an electric compressor, or a regular one. Any ideas or advice there?
Many thanks and happy modelling!
Brad

Hi all, I've reignited my plastic modelling passion, and have realised an airbrush is crucial but I've never used one before.
I'm trying to decide between a cheaper starter kit with an electric compressor, or a regular one. Any ideas or advice there?
Many thanks and happy modelling!
Brad
Hi Brad, welcome to the forum. Im a relativly newbe to airbrushing but i found that with a cheaper airbrush and compressor with an air tank i can achieve some reasonable results.

It has been good to get some practice in with the cheaper airbrush and also get to know how to clean it down properly (very important to long life). I bought two £20 airbrush from Amazon and both still work perfectly after 2 years constant use. the compressor was £80 from Amazon.

You will no doubt get alot of advise here off other members with far more experience than I. Pantherman

I went a slightly different path, when I got my first airbrush.

I wanted to stay within my budget, for a price I thought reasonable. But I also avoid buying things of lower quality that just have to be replaced. So I bought a used brush, a Paasche VL, which I still have. I picked it up at a flea market, for forty bucks, the full kit in its original box. That was around 25 years ago, and it was already at least 25 years old at the time. I was happy with my purchase. It's a relatively simple brush, so it was good to use to practice. And it's rugged and easy to maintain. It has served me well.