Order of paint layers on a scale model

pmaj

hi everyone!

hope you are all well.

I recently started building aircraft scale models, and as im a newbie i watch a lot of videos on YouTube to learn about tips and tricks.
One on particular video, I found that the guy is using the different layers of paint in the following format:
ic2CTBb.png
(layers are not to scale)

the original video is here:
here

as im new to this, i had a few questions to ask:

1- in the above example, isn't there a need to add another layer of varnish/top coat as the 8th step? if so, what brand/model of varnish would you recommend?

2- I am currently building a MiG-21SMT Weekend Edition by Eduard. I would like the main camo to be Aluminium paint, however I am not sure what to use as a varnish, like Satin, Matte or Gloss?

3- if i had a coat of Mr Surfacer 1500 primer thinned with Mr Levelling Thinner, and after a day or so i use a color paint thinned with Mr Levelling Thinner on top of that, would the previous layer of primer be affected by the thinner?? will the fresh thinner start to dissolve the layer underneath?

Many thanks for helping me!

Last edited:
A little late to this.

You do not have to follow every last step listed. Nor do you have to use the products called out. Thats that persons preference.

Primer. Very often I simply use flat black paint. I like to use the black to show through the color to varying degrees to help with weathering. Often called black basing. If its a metallic finish, then I use gloss or semi gloss black depending on the effect I want.

Gloss coat. There are dozens of choices from Future to Tamiya to Alclad and on and on. And again, it will depend on what youre doing. I dont use it on metallic finishes.

I have never sealed decals before weathering. The decals represent painted on stuff on the real thing, so they should be as weathered and effected as the rest of the plane. Simply ensure you use Micro set or Solvaset to get the decals ON.