Question on power

So..I'm basically a monkey playing with fire for the first time.

I've had some mild trial and error with my half finished projects, so far. But I got my kit wired up with about five LEDs. And I thought I got a battery pack large enough to support the lights. And it worked great for about an hour, then two of my lights flickered out and just won't light up anymore.

My question is..does this sound like i don't have enough juice going to my lights that wears down the batteries?

Sounds like you might have too much power and burnt out the LEDs. I'm no expert on this but the voltage of the LEDs and the power have to match. Can anyone explain this more better - I should talk to an electrician and do a special show on this.

Well, I'm about to smash it against the wall and start all over with the broken pieces and hope my buddy doesn't mind the "battle Damage".

And I noticed the two of my lights were dimmer than the others and then just blinked out..I'm still not sure if I have too much or not enough since the two lights in question just seemed to dim out and fade away.
But you know...it's a learning experience, and I'm willing to keep on going till my girlfriend either sees a flashing skeleton in the living room or she'll see a nifty cool star trek model to ruin her decor of the house.