My first commission - A Sherman in Egypt.

alfonzo1

I am still fairly new to modelling (1 year) but felt the challenge of a commission build too irresistible to turn down. I had a part time job at a model shop (model zone, quit a couple of weeks ago to concentrate on uni) where I met a chap that wanted a model for a friend as a present so I offered my services.

I was given a photo of the guys friends grandad serving as a mechanic in Egypt working on Shermans. It isnt the most exciting build but the thought of having my work appreciated and a couple of quid in my pocket made the prospect exciting. He had already picked the kit Dragons M4A4 75mm, it doesnt have the right running gear but he was happy enough and gave me instructions of colours and so I set to work.

-The tarp is made of tissue paper (thank you scalemodelmadman).
-The figure is composed of 7 different figures and bit of milliput to get as close as possible to the pose.
-The dodgy looking sign is his grandads unofficial logo of a kangaroo with a soldier in its pouch, I made this on microsoft word then just printed onto ordinary paper.
- The base is an adapted extractor vent cover which is pretty much a photo frame just happened to be the right size and very cheap.
-The ground is polyfilla and a cheap builders sand.
- The dog is there as one was mentioned and shown in another photo, this was taken from tamiyas livestock pack.

There are a few things I am not massively happy with such as the decals on the side of the hull and the rope ties at the rear of the hull but time was against me. Despite this the customer was very happy with it which made it all worth while.

Anyway hope you guys like it and as always any advice is more than welcome.

Cheers Alan,

TDNk3.jpg

STzdd.jpg

Alfonzo1,

I like the diorama very much. Maybe I´ll "copy" it someday !!!! ;D ;D ;)

Excellent idea, excellent composition, and very good executing...

A perfect gift, really nice and original...
congratulations
RG

ALFONZO 1 ,