Hobby Boss Saurer RK7

FAUST

Ola Guys

Time for another project on the bench. I know I still got lots of things unfinished. But either I'm fed up with them, or bored out of my mind by them, or looking to replace/scratch parts I damaged or waiting for replacement parts to come in. So I dismissed them all to the shelf and started with a kit that I got for my birthday a few weeks back.

And it is this kit:
RK7_001.jpg

And that is when I settled on a nice OOTB built (spoiler alert!!! It will never be that easy)
So on to step one the roadwheel sets
RK7_002.jpg

And then the following steps where mainly dealing with the undercarriage and such.
RK7_003.jpg

RK7_004.jpg

It was around this point 2 days into the built I decided to give the OOTB idea a kick and out the window it went.
I love building diorama's and I'm a graphic designer by trade. I am very good at thinking in pictures. So as soon as I have a vehicle in my hands the ideas start running. And then suddenly I have that "Eureka!" moment and there is no way that idea will go away. And I got one of those ideas for this vehicle. More on that later.

Opening all doors and showing the insides of the vehicle was part 1 of the plan. However. Hobby Boss did a great job on the outside of the vehicle... The inside really is only correct if the Saurer RK 7 would carry a black hole inside. There is absolutely nothing in there. And the floor isn't correct... and there are no holes where holes should be. Well Time to fix that last thing. getting out the Saw!!!!
RK7_005.jpg

RK7_006.jpg

RK7_007.jpg

The hump by the entrance went from side to side while on the real vehicle it protrudes just a bit out of the sidewall while the middle is flat. And on the left side of the vehicles front where the engine is located there is a hole in the sidewall where the exhaust goes through inside the armored cover. Which incidentally also had a hole in the bottom which had to be cut out.

This is how it stands now
RK7_008.jpg