Downdraft Paint Booth

knightrw1110

Hi all, I'm new to the forum and have been reading with interest various posts regarding paint booths. I've decided in the interests of keeping peace in the family to consider building one. Currently I'm in the early planning stages of a downdraft booth. I've got some questions that I hope you guys can help me out with. A) I'm thinking of using multiple computer fans in my "pit" area. Two in the front that will be blowing into the pit, and two in the rear that will be evacuating the pit. I think this will give me plenty of CFM, but will also create a venturi effect which should help pull the atomized paint and odors into the pit. B) I plan on using multiple filters. The first in the floor of the booth itself, the second and third stages in the pit. C) I would hook the fans up in series and run them to a rheostat switch so that I could vary the RPM and control my CFM that way. I've never built anything like this before, and so the vast majority of what I'm saying may not work. I'd like you guys to poke holes in this idea and let me know what I'm not thinking of, or why I shouldn't be doing any of it the way I'm thinking of. Thanks!

Hey there Knight,

I built my own, computer fans should work fine, don't know about 2 in the front and 2 in the back.

My own I used a 100cfm bathroom fan, extracted to the out doors. The work surface is just a piece of 1/4 peg board, over a furnace filter. The fan has been more than enough to pull paint vapors out of the booth, even with a spray can fogging everywhere. Fan itself draws enough air even through the furnace filter that a piece of paper towel will stick to the work surface, so plenty of suction to pull paint vapors out of the air.

I am looking onto building the same type of setup but I'm thinking about using a kitchen fan instead...

Elm City Hobbies said:
Hey there Knight,

I built my own, computer fans should work fine, don't know about 2 in the front and 2 in the back.