astroboys' falcon

astroboy

Right now, I'm just holding my place.

I'm VERY new to all this, but totally in to it. I always loved ships but was completely disappointed with how out of scale the toys and collectables were.

Anyway, I'm here with a fine molds 1/72 falcon. I'm not going for studio scale . This will combine elements (the ones I want) from both major studio models as well as the ESB full size set piece.

Aftermarket parts:
acreation photoetch parts
resin engines
madman electronics
jbot decals

Mistakes made thus far....
glued the gunwells in without even THINKING of drilling out holes for lighting
tried to make my own turbines for the top and really, I should have gotten the resin ones. They look way better.

I've been on hold for the past few months because the missus and I had a kid this summer which changes a lot. Plus, I'm on parental leave which means I won't have access to my shop until mid november. So right now I'm still gathering and planning. Right now I'm really working on that whole lighting part of things.

I'll run this lighting plan past you guys: (it's pretty much the madman kit, but I changed a couple things because I want more things lit

here it goes:
6 blue LEDs for the engines
1 red led W/ 20 fibreoptic strands for red markers (1mm)
1 LED for gunwells (in the little hole going between the two gunwells)
1 LED for cockpit
1 LED W/ fibreoptics (different sizes) for lower jaw and interior jaw positions
2 LED's for headlights

I'm going to power it with this battery and the access point to charge it and for the switch will be under the gunwell (which I won't glue down
http://www.ebay.com/itm/320659534994?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

I'm not going to do any of the underside running lights. The madman kist doesn't account for them and I'm not even sure if I like them or not (unless it was a diorama)