AMT Defiant Class - First Build!!

Igard

Hey folks! I found this old kit one day in my attic and decided to build it up. I haven't built a model kit for about 14 years (when I was about 14 years old!).

So, here it goes. This might not be up to a very high standard as I'm a total newbie and this kit is a real baptism of fire. Not one seam on this closes properly and in one place there's a gap of at least 2mm!

The goal of this model is simply to learn, to make lots of mistakes and not let them bother me too much, because, you know, it's about learning and most of all, having fun.

As such, I figure I'll try to do as much as possible with it. I'll be amending a few inaccuracies. I'll be lighting it. I'll also be creating my own decals.

07052011151.jpg

Fixing the step detail on the bridge section with styrene strips and lots of squadron putty. I'm also scribing the panel details to replace the raised details. This was supposed to be to make it more screen accurate, but it turned out that I made a few mistakes and couldn't bring myself to scribe over the puttied bridge section, so a few lines are missing here sadly.

07052011148.jpg

The windows were matched as closely as possible with the studio model. The original kit had the wrong shaped windows as well as the wrong locations. I used Araldite 2020 clear epoxy to fill the windows. I would have been better with either a fast drying epoxy resin or Micro Krystal Klear.

I also sprayed the inside with a metallic paint to help light block. I hoped it would be more reflective than this. It's pretty crap stuff, but I had to try it.

15052011153.jpg

Ventral hull with lots of LED enclosures. I don't know if it was really necessary to use so much putty to hold it all in place, but it kept the LEDs secure in such a large space inside the ship.

I added a few random shaped segments of aluminium foil inside the warp engines to cover up some wires and to hopefully add some nice effects to the model when lit.

15052011152.jpg