Airbrush sprays intermittently

Tromance

Hello all.
I am very new to airbrushing, and have purchased - against the advice of some, it must be said - a cheap Chinese airbrush, as it's the only thing I can get hold of here in the Middle East, at least for now. That said, it feels sturdy enough. Here is a pic.

nDu1S9z.jpg

The problem I'm having is that the paint spray is intermittent. It's dual action, so I press the trigger, pull back, and all is good for a few seconds, but then the paint supply stops. I release the trigger, then bring it in again, and it works again. I suspect something somewhere is blocking it, but my knowledge isn't sufficient to know for sure.

As far as I can tell there are no burrs on the needle, or anything that looks out of place to the naked eye. Could anyone recommend things to check?

Here is a pic of the airbrush disassembled as far as it will go. The last piece of the nozzle doesn't unscrew - at least, I haven't been able to budge it.

NcyPXtO.jpg

Many thanks.

Sounds like the paint might not be quite thin enough, or you don't have enough air pressure and it is causing the intermittent spraying.

Elm City Hobbies said:
Sounds like the paint might not be quite thin enough, or you don't have enough air pressure and it is causing the intermittent spraying.
Thanks for the advice. I'm spraying at about 20PSI. I thought the paint might be too thick, so I tried spraying just water, which seems to be OK. So I added four drops of Aqua Color to a pretty much full cup, and it messed up again.
I've had other advice suggest a deep clean of all the components in case there's some sort of manufacturing gunk still on it all.
The lesson appears to be not to buy cheap knock-offs, but I'm still keen to see if I can get as much out of it as possible before upgrading.

My guess is also the paint being too thick. Start with 70/30 thinner to paint and see if it sprays properly and then add some more paint until it starts acting up.