Tinting canopies

jdam dropper

Hello! This is my first post, I am pretty new to the hobby and have built only three planes. I am currently building a 1/72 F-35 model but its canopy has to be tinted in a "yellowish brown color" I am thinking of using Vallejo smoke and brush painting it underneath the canopy. I unfortunately can't use an airbrush or rattle can. could I apply clear paints on the canopies? without getting the brushmarks? any suggestions or tips would be helpful. Thank you in advance.

With enough water/flow improver/acrylic thinner, you can avoid brushstrokes, but making that consistent (not blotchy) is very hard. It's already hard to have the paint stick on the bare plastic (try whether a gloss varnish will make it stick).

Welcome Aboard !

I use ink suspended in Pledge Floor Care , an acrylic . It has the perfect properties for this sort of thing .
It takes very little ink .
Place some on the inside of the canopy , rotate the canopy around to get the proper coverage then allow the excess to pour off .
Let it dry and repeat , as needed .

You can do it with transparent acrylics too .

It will take some experimenting to achieve the color and density you want , but if it looks wrong all you have to do is remove it with 90% isopropyl alcohol and start over .
ad infinitum .

With enough water/flow improver/acrylic thinner, you can avoid brushstrokes, but making that consistent (not blotchy) is very hard. It's already hard to have the paint stick on the bare plastic (try whether a gloss varnish will make it stick).
Thanks for the reply, but wouldent the paint be the same as the reqular paints we use?

Welcome Aboard !

I use ink suspended in Pledge Floor Care , an acrylic . It has the perfect properties for this sort of thing .
It takes very little ink .
Place some on the inside of the canopy , rotate the canopy around to get the proper coverage then allow the excess to pour off .
Let it dry and repeat , as needed .