Soldering for Hobbyists -New series

Spockr

Hi All,

The link below is for the first in a series of video tutorials I have in works. I'm a technical trainer with 35+ years of experience in soldering and wanted to share some practical knowledge with fellow modelers. The goal of the series is to remove some of the mystery and to help make soldering easier. I'd like to show hobbyists ways to improve their skills with connecting components reliably. The information is presented with clear visuals from the point of view of the user so that understanding the process is as straight forward as possible.
I have outlined plans for at least 5-10 videos and would welcome requests to help with viewer's soldering challenges and questions. If there's a soldering task you'd like to see performed let me know and I'll do my best to include it in one of the videos.

Feedback will be used to help make these as useful as possible so please let me know what you think.

Regards,
Matt

Soldering for Hobbyists - Episode 1 - Intro plus Magnet Wire

Lots of views and no comments -

I like this, clear and concise with useful tips and information. Looks forward to viewing a series as I'm not the best a soldering.
I've not used magnet wire and the tip for stripping the coating was informative.

Thanks for checking it out Tim. In upcoming episodes I'll be featuring at least these topics:

- Soldering basics - Process methods and techniques to achieve reliable solder joints
- Wire types, selection and applications
- Components and circuit boards
- Tools: types, selection, application and care
- Circuit board assembly - Surface mount and Through hole techniques

Let me know if there's any other specific areas you would like to know more about and I'll try to include it in an episode.

Regards,
Matt

Very nice tutorial. I never thought of holding the wire and solder like chop sticks. Very clever and a new use for fingers and hands.