Monogram 1/48 T-37 Tweety Bird (Conversion from A-37 kit)

Bzzymatt

Stayin Bzzy :P
O.k. I haven't really been on SMA for a while, since in fact I have a lot of other things to do!!!! Being only 16 years old, I'm having a very hectic schedule, but I was recently asked to build a T-37 model for an older gentlemen who use to fly F-86's, but also flew the T-37.

It was going to be a challenge because I was trying to finish my 1/700 USS Neosho and 1/48 P-40B, but since this was going to be a Christmas present fro this gentleman, and they had no one else to turn to, I went ahead and started to work on the project.

My deadline to finish the model is before Christmas, so I only have a few weeks left....

There are some old T-37 kits on the market which go for $60 to $70, but they wanted me to build it as cheap as possible, which shouldn't be too hard because I've been building models for over 4 years and I have a lot of the supplies needed to do the job.

I am building the T-37 from an old Monogram A-37 Kit, a very basic kit in my opinion, but there is so much work to do. The tanks on the wing tips would have to be removed and I would have to shape the wing tips, A lot of filler is going to be needed, and as for decals, I have some but not all the decals needed to finish the model.

IMG_0126.jpg

The cockpit is very basic to assemble, However I detailed the model with air hoses made of copper wire, seat belts made of evergreen styrene strips, and more copper wire to make the cockpit look a little more complex.Tthe cockpit walls were not painted, but weathered with Tamiya weathering kit Master set "A" and some MIG weathering pigments.

After assembling the cockpit, it was time to get down to the hard portion of the build....The wings.

Cutting off the tanks on the wing tips was a little tricky, but I'll show you a easy way to remove the tanks.

IMG_0175.jpg

I started off by cutting off the tips of the tank, so the wing can fit in my mitre box.

IMG_0177.jpg