M1-A1 Abrams Help!

letsgobrowns82

I need some help from all you armor guys. I have never built a tank but I really want to build an M1-A1. I spend most all my time in 1/48 Aircraft land and some Star Wars. So anyway can I get some opinions on who makes the best Abrams kit. As far as accuracy and fit go. Thanks for any help you can give.

Carsenault said:
Im an armor newb as well. I have the Dragon M1A1 AIM in the stash and it is a beaut, really cant wait to get working on it. Its a fairly recent release and has some really nice detail. Tamiyas kits should also be very nice, and probably a lot easier to build too.

Armorama Dragon M1A1 AIM review
http://www.armorama.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=Reviews&file=index&req=showcontent&id=1911
Wow that looks like a great kit and quite a challenge as well. I may have to pick that up and put it in the stash. That could end up making a good winter project. Thanks a lot Carsenault!

Although the DML AIM is a nice kit......without a doubt! And worth buying....By all means...

I wouldn't built it as my first tank! Way over engineered for a new-bee.

The Tamiya M1A2 OIF is a much "tamer" beast to handle! I can guaranty your satisfaction! Being a Tamiya
Kit first of all.... And not over complicated.... A nice Ice breaker...

Either kits are good... But leaps n bounds differences in its engineering the DML isn't for the fainth of heart. Good for a second or third AFV....

What ever you decide is totally up to you! Either way we will be behind you....

Best of luck with your project!

Norm.

schweinhund227 said:
Although the DML AIM is a nice kit......without a doubt! And worth buying....By all means...

I wouldn't built it as my first tank! Way over engineered for a new-bee.

The Tamiya M1A2 OIF is a much "tamer" beast to handle! I can guaranty your satisfaction! Being a Tamiya
Kit first of all.... And not over complicated.... A nice Ice breaker...