Gundam Kyrios

MrNatural

my head is falling off my head
Almost to the paint stage of my other entry so figured I go ahead and enter another one to break up the monotony of working on the same thing all the time... maybe im crazy ;D
Well here it is Bandai's Gundam Kyrios, 11 sprues all together lots of painting check it out..

001-22.jpg
002-22.jpg
003-21.jpg
004-19.jpg
005-17.jpg
006-15.jpg
007-13.jpg
I've never seen a sprue like this in a Gundam Kit, its like really extra soft rubber parts
008-10.jpg
009-5.jpg
010-2.jpg
011-3.jpg
usual sprue of polycaps and bushings
012-5.jpg

thanks guys no progress report yet just been cleaning up a few parts. I started painting my other entry today so i'll be working on this in between coats for sure hopefully have a big update by this weekend.

party on!

Alright. got a little work done on this nothing crazy, just step 1. these bandai kits always go together beautifully and easily, but when trying to paint one of these there are always 3 or 4 different colors to manage this can be challenging when you have a seam line on a multi colored part. I usually run into this with the arms. so i label every part with its original color so i dont get confused.
001-25.jpg
006-16.jpg
primered
010-3.jpg
this guy transforms into a jet. first gundam i've built with a canopy to deal with
005-18.jpg

That is one of the things about Gundams, the go together so well, but painting them is another challenge in and of itself.

Keep us updated!!

cool. so here we go. lots of airbrushing. finished painting the first batch of parts.

internal structure parts tamiya metallic grey
IMG_0376.jpg
IMG_0377.jpg
IMG_0378.jpg

im trying to achieve a gradient effect with the outer armor parts so i first based each part with a dark color and then faded a lighter color on top. with these parts im working with tamiya orange and flat red. this effect definitely works better with colors that compliment each other. hopefully the camera gets the idea across.