Do i need a third paint coat??

hoakin1981

Hi to all and happy new year!

Complete newbie here trying out his first built.

The question i have is regarding the "shadows" shown on the photos after the 2nd coat of paint was applied. They are on both sides of the conning tower and even though not super visible (to be honest) they are more pronounced under some lighting conditions. What i find strange is that i had a similar shadow (on one side only) after the 1st coat but now there are two.

Normally, if I did not have these two shadows I would proceed with the next color in line since i am satisfied with how the rest of the sub. looks but perhaps now a 3rd coat is needed after all.

What worries me is that perhaps i do something wrong in that specific section or I need to set something up differently airbrush-wise to correct this.

Would appreciate any advice since there is no point in adding up coats without solving the problem and losing detail/panel lines in the process.

Thanks in advance

Untitled_1.jpg

Untitled_2.jpg

it looks like the paint might have been drying as it was being applied. sand back lightly with 1000 grit and repaint. add some retarder or more thinner to your paint.

Welcome to SMA !

I can't really tell too much from those 2 photos .
The " shadow " in the first photo appears to also be visible beneath the area you hi-lited .
as well as aft of the hi-lited area in the 2nd photo .

Is that primer beneath the gray paint ?
Like Cobra says , it looks like the paint went on too thin and dry -- from too far away maybe ?

Thanks for the replies, much appreciated.