Darth Vader's "Refit" TIE Fighter

Matthew Amundsen

star_wars_ties_trench.jpg

Darth Vader's "Refit" TIE Fighter
AMT|Ertl Kit# 8916

Rather than copy the studio model, I've decided to go with the premise that Vader's ship was
refitted after it's collision with another TIE pilot, as seen in Episode IV. ...in other words, cheat in
addressing all the flaws in this kit.

Since this is my first build in over 15 years, and my first ever attempt at lighting, I'm counting on
all of you to tell me what I'm doing wrong and what I can do to improve. BE BRUTAL.

Laser Turrets

The only way to light the laser turrets on this thing, that I could think of, was to build new ones.

DSCF1365b.png

Since I'm on a tight budget, I rummaged through some old kits until I found this clear sprue from a DS9 Runabout.
It was round, uniform, had few imperfections (seams, scratches, inclusions) and was an overall good fit.

DSCF1321b.png

Using my Dremel as a micro-lathe, I cut a 1.25" section, inserted into the chuck and (very carefully) turned out a new set of
laser turrets. It took quite a bit of time, but I think they'll work ...and I saved about $20-25 on materials.

DSCF1353b.png
DSCF1345c.png

Oh thats very nice work.....never thought to use my Dremel like a lathe before!

TTFN

Off to a good start! and yes the easiest way to light those lasers was to start over from scratch.

The kind of project I Like, clearly the budget solutions I like too :)

Keep on the good work.

Looking forward to this Matthew.

Just a thought, shouldn't Vader have red lasers? I thought that was his favorite colour, next to black :)

Barry

Barsprojects said:

Just a thought, shouldn't Vader have red lasers? I thought that was his favorite colour, next to black :)

Barry

The ILM models had orange lasers but laser bolts were green.

Barsprojects said:

Barry