Anyone here use Mr. Color paints?

B

Black Sheep 1

I'm about to order some Gunze Mr. Color paints for my 1/32 F-117A build.
I've never used this paint before and would like some advice, comments, warnings, what ever info I can get on them.
Do they work well in an airbrush?
Do I still need to prime before painting?
How long to dry?

Thanks

If you mean the Mr. Color lacquer paints;
-Only thin using Tamiya lacquer thinner or Mr. Color lacquer thinner. Do not thin with hardware store lacquer thinner. (You can use hardware store lacquer thinner to clean up.) However, I highly recommend to buy Mr. Color self-leveling thinner. Once you use it you'll never look back.
-Yes, but I don't know the thinning ratios. However, they are a lacquer so you really should wear a respirator if you plan on spraying them.
-You don't need to prime before painting them.
-They dry really quickly and once they are dry that's it. They are a lacquer and do not cure. They only dry.

PharmPhluegel said:
they are a lacquer so you really should wear a respirator if you plan on spraying them.

OH yeah!
I'm already prepared for that.
IMG_0914.jpg

Thanks for the info.
Any leads as to where to get them from here in the US?
It seems everywhere I go they are out of the Thinners or out of most colors.

Black Sheep 1 said:
Thanks for the info.

Another thing about Mr. Color lacquers, they have the shortest shelf life of any hobby paint so don't be surprised if you have a bottle go bad in a couple of years.

Sprue Brothers used to carry them, but they don't seem to be restocking any. I imagine in the US they are having the same issues as with the Gunze Aqueous several years back.