A Carentan 1/35 WW2 Diorama

stellarb

Hello all! I am fairly new to SMA but have been on Armorama for quite some time. Just found this place and wanted to share my first ever dio build currently in progress. I originally started this back in September and had pretty much no skills at all. Now, after a few months and a little layoff, I am returning to work on it here and there as time permits and wanted to share the journey with you. All input, criticism and questions are welcomed. I hope someone learns something from this as I too hope to learn in return. Here we go!

The idea is based on Easy Company of the 506th Parachute Regiment in World War Two. I have been a huge fan of the Band of Brothers series for many years and deeply respect what all the units did in the war. I wanted to depict a very specific scene from Part 3 of the series where E Co is asked to take the town of Carentan. It was a very valuable piece of land during D Day and the days following as it connected both Utah and Omaha beaches together, linking Allied resources with a central axis point to funnel men and supplies up inland to continue the rush into Nazi territory. Carentan was taken with a few causalities by E Co and the Germans had stationed their own Parachute regiment there to hold the town, the 6th Fallschirmjager unit. The enemy was prepared and held E Co down with machine gun fire from a 3 story building at the end of the only access point to E Co: a road that ran Northbound into the town.

I found these awesome renderings somewhere on the internet and have been using them as a resource:
carentan03.jpg

carentan01.jpg

carentan05.jpg

I am building the Cafe, the half destroyed house and a building that is not really known, making it a music shop.

This was my original layout:
100_3717.jpg

But a layoff from looking at this stuff got me thinking and I have finalized this layout instead:
100_4011.jpg

Using MDF board as a base, I will work with it.