Willys Coupe 1993 AMT (FIRST EVER PLATIC MODEL BUILD - NEED ASSISTANCE)

Fr0zen

So this is going to be first Foray into Plastic Model building and decided to start of with something basic AMT`s Willy 1933 Coupe.

i got myself an Spraycraft Classic Airbrush kit and some Primer (photos below) will need some assistance for a newbie here on what to paint etc and what supplies you guys would recommend !!

IMG_0056.jpg

IMG_0060.jpg

IMG_0057.jpg

10256857-523f-47ea-8400-2d4133069772.jpg

The color i would like for this build is like a sparkly Green (see pic below) and chrome of course
greencar.jpg

Welcome.

I'm ready to start on the '33 Willys of Ohio George Montgomery that was recently re-released by AMT so Ill tell you what I do to get started.

The plastic comes out of the mold with a coating on it to help the parts release from it and I like to wash that off by soaking it in warm dish soap and scrubbing it with a brush. When everything is dry, I spray all of the parts with primer to make sure they will take paint well (chrome excluded except for purists, but that's another issue).

Seperate all of the body parts and go over the edges with a razor knife to remove any flashing or defects where the parts connected to the tree (sprue). A stiff cardboard nail file or sanding board is good. too. Prepare the body parts with sandpaper to help the paint go on smoothly. I use 600, 1200 and 2000 grit sandpaper. I like dry but some swear by wet sanding.

Doing the body first and working in stages like this will give you a head start on the most difficult part (painting) and give you something to come back to while parts dry or glue sets up.

Stuff to get cheap:

Masking tape. I like painter's tape like Frog tape. The yellow is better than the green.
Shish kebob skewers. Wooden sticks from the grocery store to tape or stick parts to for painting.
Small alligator clips. Mine are from Radio Shack. Press them onto the ends of the sticks and they hold parts while you work on them.