McQuarrie Concept Scratch Build

dbhs

Here's a scratch build I've been working on for a few months. I was inspired by this McQuarrie concept design for the original Cylon Raider and wanted to do a build of it. It is in 1/35th scale to match the scale of the Studio Raider.

Here's the link to my build diary: http://www.hanshortes.com/dbhsmodeler/ConceptRaiderdiary.htm.

And here is the concept sketch and some current pics. Thanks for looking.

-Doug

ConceptRaider-1.JPG

ConceptRaider-56.JPG

ConceptRaider-60.JPG

Excuse me... can someone help me find my jaw?

It bounced away somewhere when it hit the floor looking at this model.

Wowsers!

Thanks for the feedback, guys. I've been working on the engine details.

ConceptRaider-62.JPG

The engine parts are mostly parts from pens and markers that I cut up. The smaller clear parts are the left overs from the pens I used for the guns on the bottom side. The black parts are from some cut up giant permanent markers. I was just going to use them for the engine bells but the body of the marked worked perfectly for the rest of the engine as well. I capped off the ends with white styrene. The cone shaped part with ridges in the middle of the larger engines was an insert inside the cap of the markers.

For the larger thickness of brass i've been bending them around a nail I pounded into the workbench. The bent pieces are all solid brass, the tubes just bend at a point. Getting the bend to happen in the right spot is really tricky for me so i just make either end a bit long and then cut it down to the right length. For the smaller brass wires, I'm just bending these with needle nose pliers.

Thanks for the feedback, guys.

Here's a picture of the jumbo markers I cut up for the engine parts - one that survived ;-).

ConceptRaider-63.JPG

Very cool.

Ever catch yourself in a Dollar Store with some model part in one hand and a bunch of pens in the other, trying to find just the right one? I love bashing everyday stuff for models.