40k Ork Mini-Stompa "Raidah-bot"

fcschmidt

This is a project I've been working off and on for a few months. I friend of mine had given me a old beat up land raider... I was looking to build an Ork Battlewagon. I looked online for some ideas and ran across the Russbot which inspired me to build this... may I present the Ork Raidah-bot! A giant robot built from a salvaged space marine land raider.

Photo04260137.jpg

The feet are of course from the land raider... body is mostly the land raider body built up to box with plasticard (that was a challenge to make it fit!). The shoulders are the land raider's sponsons, designed so a Big Mek with a force field could stand up there... the head is the cap of a pill bottle. Lots of bits and plasticard.

Photo04260137_2.jpg

The back side has the orkified land raider engine. The tank is a candy container my son generously donated to the project. More plasticard and plastic tubes.

Photo04260137_1.jpg

Photo04260137_3.jpg

Photo04260138.jpg

The Nylon Gag's amazing scratchbuilt space ship inspired me to add some more fine details. I found a tutorial online on how to make cable bundles, and I just happened to have bought really thin wire that I thought would end up being useless... turns out it was perfect for making cable bundles! I added cabling to the engine and the back of the Kannon.

Photo04260138_2.jpg

Photo04260140.jpg

Photo04260139.jpg

I love how the gatling gun turned out. Initially the back of it was just a box, but some more inspiration online led me to add the ammo drum which really makes it, I think. Also the arm weapons are attached with magnets so can be swapped out later if I'd like (and also allows them to rotate! fun!)

The Raidah-bot will use the rules for a Battlewagon, With a Kannon, belly gun is a kill-kannon, and the gatling gun will count as 4 added big-shootas.

Next stop... paint!

Thanks for reading!