Windex as an acrylic thinner

CY343491

Hi all,

I saw that some folks using windex or another brand windshield cleaners as acrylic thinner.
Have anybody used it before, is it an effective method?

By the way, in my researches early times Windex was including a lot of IPA, then they've reduced the ratio of IPA in terms of human health.

I've not heard of that one before. Those can both be used to clean an airbrush with acrylic paint but I stick with straight IPA for that.

What is it with these people pushing Windex as a thinner/cleaner for airbrushing...??!! Windex with Ammonia WILL EAT your airbrush innards up over time and is intended to CLEAN CAR WINDOWS...NOT airbrushes...!! I know I am sorta yelling here, but I've been airbrushing for over 30 years...I teach it, I repair brushes, and I NEVER use WINDEX. I am old school. If I use Vallejo paint I use Vallejo thinner. If I use Tamiya paint...you get the idea. Some folks claim it's way cheaper than buying the proprietary thinners. Suit yourself, but when some of my students come cryin to me their gun don't work like it used to, and I look inside to see the surfaces all pitted from constant ultrasonic cleaning in ammonia...well, don't say I told ya so. IPA is fine for general cleaning, and can be used in a pinch to thin, say Tamiya paint. The reason I don't use off the shelf cleaners, is because they DO NOT contain any chems that help the paint flow, level, and generally WORK like it's supposed to. Many will argue the point that it works for them...fine. All I am saying is thet when you are a novice, stick to KNOWN products. That way if there is a problem, at least you can look elsewhere for issues knowing you at least have the right paint/thinner combo to begin with...nuff said. All naysayers feel free to rip me apart should you choose...LOL...!!!

unclepine
Winnipeg