Vallejo vs. Testors / Acrylics vs. Enamels

luisito8m

Hellos guys, I hope this is not a common question here in the forums, I've done online research and still do not understand when it comes to the battle of Acrylics vs. Enamels.

A little inside about me: I am new to the hobby (plastic modeling) and currently working on a Revell USS Constitution 1/196 and Tamiya US Military Set 1/35, not much experience on the hobby yet. I forecast that on the future I want to do weathering, be able to use washes, and get into military dioramas.

As far as I know, Enamels are oil based and need thinner/mineral spirits to clean up and dilute; Acrylics on the other hand are water based and very easy to clean up, I think acrylics need a primer to stick into it??

I know that each person has a preferred type, but I am wondering if someone could answer me on an un-bias standpoint from an overall perspective of the 2 products.

Which one stands above the other?

I've worked with Enamels so far, I like them, flat colors only, and yes, cleaning up is a bit of an annoying task. However, I am wondering of the pros and cons of both types besides the ones I've written above. I've never used acrylics.

I want to make sure that I am using the right type of paint accordingly to what I do and my skill, as well as what it is possible to do with it.

Thanks,
Luis

I have used just about every type of enamel and acrylic available in North America, and for my money, I will go with Vallejo every time.

Acrylic, yes that means you should not only wash your plastic, (which you should do anyway regardless of the paint you use) and prime the plastic so the paint has something to bite into (which is also a good thing to do regardless of the paint).

Easier clean up, more colors to choose from (200+ in the Model Color line, 120+ in the Model Air line, 48 in the Panzer Aces line, and another 100+ in the Game Color line, add to that all the primer colors)