Vallejo "coverage"

Chris18692

Hey all,

I've just gotten back into modeling and picked up a set of Vallejo paints. I'm having little trouble with some colors that the only way I can describe it is that they're not getting good coverage when being applied with a brush. I've had quite a few years experience brush painting acrylics so my first thought was they're not getting fully mixed up so I've already tried all that I can think of which includes...

Extra shaking/mixing. I literally timed and shook the bottles hitting them on the palm of my other hand for 5+minutes - same result

Over a basecoat, I tried them on a primed surface and even a un-primed surface with basically the same results.

More shaking/mixing - same

Even more shaking/mixing - my arms are like jello at this point

I'm rather stumped on what to do, it's only certain colors. Reading the threads about airbrushing the Model Colors I've seen where the pigments are different and some colors are thinner than others. The colors such as White Grey and Flat Yellow as examples both seem really thin and have this coverage problem but then the metal colors like Silver and Gold are almost as thick as a gel but have the same "coverage" problem as the thin paints. ??? The best I've been able to get with them is to keep applying several really heavy coats which leaves the finish looking clumpy. Then I switch from White-Grey to Medium Sea-Grey and it brushes on beautifully, among most the other colors.
So is there a secret to getting these to cover better when brushed on? or is the secret to use a different brand for these troublesome colors? :-\ I'm not against using a different brand but I'd prefer to stay in the acrylic family if at all possible.

Can't say as I have ever had a problem with them covering. and I have probably been using Vallejo for 7-8 yrs.. As per any acrylic, if the surface isn't clean from dust and oils the paint can bead up.