Tiger I Initial (Africa)

sunsanvil

Been meaning to do a Tiger for years and decided it was finally time.

Basing this on the Tamiya Kit:

12571303093_3ea16e1e43_o.png

Voyager PE Set:

12566926025_16466d78e5_o.png

MasterClub Tracks:

12567392394_5c8dd17264_o.png

I couldn't resist diving right in to the tracks...

12566922415_678b3376fa_o.png

12566923685_42e22cf722_o.png

Yes, they are as exquisite as people say they are and worth every penny!

This is my first attempt a serious PE. My experience with it up till now has been the odd mesh grill or what-have you. Going to need help from the peanut gallery. :) Do the frets need to be cleaned with any sort of detergent or solvent like we do with resin?

I have done a bit of PE in the past, but no...haven't had a problem with PE.

If in doubt, just let the frets sit in some vinegar for 10-15mins, should be enough to get any crud off it it that may impeded any CA or paint.

Its one thing to know the Tiger had 48 wheels...its quite another to have to clean up as many. :) Still need to distress/chip them. Not sure about the barrel. I didnt want to buy one but while the kit part is....o....k.....I dont know...Still thinking about it.

12601869495_2c9a26da3f_o.png

Way too early but I wanted to try some folding....

12567040183_fdd35ffb4a_o.png

I gave some thought to Voyager's excellent resin attachment bolts for the fenders: Using the plastic kit part I marked the line, but it doesn't quite look right to me...

12567394334_c9085371dd_o.png

According to Brydon, the two lines should be perfectly parallel with the bottom of the sponson. You can see the forward line isn't, while the back one looks a little high. Humm...

Not sure about the barrel. I didnt want to buy one but while the kit part is....o....k.....I dont know...Still thinking about it.