The Duke

Big-John

Well I went and got my self involved in another campaign on another site. This one is a figure campaign of the Wild West.

I ordered this figure, and should have it early this week.

http://www.andrea-miniatures.com/_carro/AspsProductos/Detalle.asp?IdProductoDetalle=30

I plan to post a work in progress here, so please stay tuned.

It’s been a while since I painted any figures, so we’ll see how sharp my skills are. I am by no means an expert figure painter

Cool Big-John,

It will be good to see the duke, riding again.

Regards,

Craig.

Here are the pictures of the kit. Overall, A nice looking kit. The casting looks good, and the fit seams good. Now I have to work my way through the boring part of cleaning up the mold seams which don’t look to bad on this one

IM005825.jpg

These are the parts in the kit that I will be using.

IM005827.jpg

I will not be using these items, I will place the figure on a smaller, more simple base.

IM005829.jpg

Yes spud, it is metal, I have been cleaning seams and polishing it out with steel wool. And yes, it is "him" lol

Looks good John ,apart from a lot of flash around the rifle and forearm .
BTW ,have you seen the the fig of the Duke on his horse ,the one from true Grit ...its a cracking piece ,one I plan to do sometime ;D

Chris.

Hi Chris,

Yeah the rifle is gona be the hardest part to clean up. And yes, I have seen the “True Grit” figure, I really fancy that one too.

Speaking of True Grit, you need to watch the new remake with Jeff Bridges. It pretty good.

Just a small update. This week ends progress. All primed and ready to start laying down some color.

IM005830.jpg

the new movie is AWSOME.

and wow the head is an awsome copy of "HIM"

Hi John ,
The primer really brought out the sculpt didnt it !!! The face does look like the man . The belts look well sculpted too .

Bring on the paint ;D

Chris.

Ok, I can see, Big John: so you have "primed" him with enamels ??