SANDING PLASTIC MODELS (NOOB)

alerae

Hi, Im new to building plastic airplanes (usually from revell or tamiya) i was wondering if someone could give me a rundown on how to sand models, the grit of sand paper i should be using, and when to sand models (before or after painting). also , where to buy good sandpaper? ;D

Hi, Im new to building plastic airplanes (usually from revell or tamiya) i was wondering if someone could give me a rundown on how to sand models, the grit of sand paper i should be using, and when to sand models (before or after painting). also , where to buy good sandpaper?

All right.
As far as when to sand, do it anytime you need the surface/joint smoothed down.
Ideally, you want some fairly fine grain paper (400 grit or higher)

Ok, i was just wondering becausee the wing flaps of the model im doing are a little rough so i dident know if you do it before and after.

thx, alex

:). Hummm. What you said there..... Your wing flaps are a little rough.... I think we should look at what you are discribinig.... Cuz, it could fabric flaps? Some WW2 a/c did sport fabric flight surfaces

Can you show us? Before sanding down!

Thanks!

bad describe :p the end of the wing where it connects to the bottom of the other side is rough. i think its just becasue its a revell model and they leave random plastic eveywhere. and is normal sandpaper from canadiantire find instead of buying model sandpapeR?

That is one huge question mate. You need to sand at many different times with many different types and grits of paper and sticks. I would suggest you have a look at the many modelling tutorial videos. There is a stack from the members here. You will see them sand at many different times for many different reasons. Grendels and others have videos I would recommend you watch.. You can find their links here if you have a wee hunt around.

We could be here all day explaining all the different times you would sand. :)

Cheers and good luck
Jim