New Airbrush - Badger Patriot 105

adampolo13

Hey Fellas,

So the day finally came that I decided I needed a new airbrush. I have been using a Badger 200 series for the last 4 years. If your not familiar with it, its a single action bottle (bottom) feed internal mix brush. It has been a great first brush, especially when I wasn't building as many models as I have been lately. The biggest thing I noticed about it was the clean up. I really had to take the whole thing apart to get at all the nasty left over paint and then I had to clean up the bottles. That got easier when I started going from enamels to acrylics but it was still a huge hassle.

If you don't know, the Patriot is a gravity feed dual action brush. Well, my new badger arrived in the mail this evening and I wasted no time at all breaking it out. I did some test sprays on a piece of note card and then went to it on the M-ATV interior floor. I have to say it was unlike anything I've ever done before. After getting used to the pull back trigger I quickly realized that it is so much easier to lay down even coats of paint. The other thing that was so awesome was that when I noticed that the paint was getting very thick all i had to do was drop a little thinner in the cup. With the bottle feed I had to add thinner and mix it all over again. (And most of the time I had to go back and clean the internals out of the A.B. because they dried up as I was thinning the bottles.) The other amazing thing about the new brush is that it is so easy to clean out. All I had to do was run a little thinner through it, wipe it out with some paper towel, and whammo, nice and clean.

Last but not least you can find it many places online for 75 to 85 bucks!!! It is easily the best money I have spent on a piece of equipment yet. So, if you are looking for a great airbrush for under $100 go out and get this one. Seriously, you will not regret it!!!

Peace out!