In over my head the Sea Witch Clipper ship night mare.

Docbritofmf

As someone who likes to keep busy I tend to take on a lot more projects then I have time for and easily get distracted.

A few months back I was at a local thrift shop when I found this vintage wooden ship model kit that was half built.
PXL_20221006_185928963.jpgPXL_20221006_185956659.jpgPXL_20221006_185950605.jpg
I've never built a wooden model before aside from maybe a pinewood derby car, and I have no idea how intact the kit is but I decided I would buy it and see if I could complete it.

So far I've gone over it and it seems that most of the kit is still here maybe a few pieces of balsa I have to replace, the main components missing are a few metals pieces like a small whale boat and davets maybe I can fabricate one.
PXL_20221006_190208963.jpgPXL_20221006_190203697.jpgPXL_20221006_190159308.jpgPXL_20221006_190236383.jpgPXL_20221006_190323904.jpgPXL_20221006_190108915.jpgPXL_20221006_190105860.MP.jpg
The completed sections of the ship were mostly carved and put together by the previous builder with a few small additions by myself before I put it down and decided I needed more knowledge on how to build a wooden ship kit.

So that's were I'm at currently I'm not sure how to proceed with this build being half built and with a lot of issues it seems. I like the challenge but maybe it would make better firewood any thoughts?

Don't give up, keep going. It doesn't look bad at all. With care and patience, you can take her to a nice finish.

I tried cutting out the smaller pieces the mast structure from their balasa boards that have the outline printed on them but every attempt to cut them out resulted in the part splitting down the grain lines into multiple pieces, idk if this is because the boards are old and fragile or if they should have printed the template with the grain instead of against but I'm going the have to fabricate my own out of new balsa.