Hover Car Scratch Build

RobShouts

Hi all!

This is my first post here, so go easy on me. I've been building models on and off throughout my life, but I've really become interested in scratch building vehicles lately, mostly sci-fi. I'm a themed entertainment designer by trade, so I'm used to drawing these types of things, but this is my first foray into scratch building anything outside of a simple site plan.

Being that it's my first try, I thought I'd buy a cheap model and try to turn it into something else by way of scratch building and kitbashing in order to learn the hobby before trying a full on, original build. The premise: using a mid-century model car, imagine a future where technology has afforded people the opportunity to convert their existing vehicles into flying cars (a la The Fifth Element, Blade Runner, etc).

Here we go.

Photo%2BMar%2B18%252C%2B2%2B02%2B40%2BPM.jpg
I started with a 1/25 1950 Olds Custom. Sanded off most of the trim and any line that gives away this model having a vinyl top, plugged the rear fender skirts, removed seam lines, and started adding exterior details.

Photo%2BMay%2B08%252C%2B8%2B53%2B45%2BAM.jpg
Sci-fi-looking details.

Photo%2BMar%2B15%252C%2B4%2B09%2B04%2BPM.jpg
Started working on the large, rocket engines that will propel the car. 1/2" PVC coupling, large and small water bottle caps, and styrene half rounds.

Photo%2BMar%2B18%252C%2B2%2B01%2B32%2BPM.jpg
Added whatever this PVC piece is to the top. Yay, hardware stores!

img_1963.jpg
I cut a piece of outdoor sprinkler plumbing in half with my Dremel. The piece on the right will be placed inside the end of the rockets.

Photo%2BMay%2B08%252C%2B10%2B27%2B11%2BPM.jpg
I've learned I'm not that great at scratch building small mechanical details, but that's what this project is for. Anyone have any suggestions on greebling engine details?

Photo%2BMay%2B08%252C%2B9%2B17%2B34%2BAM.jpg