"Here's where the fun begins..." :-)

derex3592

Not sure if I should put this here, but it's a Falcon build so I'm thinkin yes..

I am about to start on Finemolds 1:72 Falcon. Doing photo etch grills and resin "fans" or whatever they are, along with upgraded cockpit instrument decals. Also considering trying to light this one! I have never tried lighting before...so I haven't yet convinced myself to try it on such an expensive kit...anyway...plenty of time to decide that. Here's a pic of the project along with a couple of pics of my other completed FM kits..

[attachment deleted by admin]

Nice job Derex! I really like the Fine Molds Star Wars kits and especially the 1/72 scale series. I only have the X-wing and the Tie-fighter so far, but will have the Falcon...eventually! ;)

thanks guys. I actually prefer the 1:48's myself for the fighters. That's what all mine are. Wish they would bring out the Tie Interceptor and Y-Wing in 1:48 at least. However--I'm glad the Falcon is only 1:72!

Very nice work, derex.

I'm also working on a 1:72 FM Falcon build with the extra aftermarket parts. I look forward to seeing your progress on this project.

I did bite the bullet and decided to light mine (also the first model I've lit). It's been a fun experience figuring out what I want to light, determining how to light it and expanding my modelling skills to include this aspect.

If you plan to light your model, I highly recommend watching Grendels video series on lighting models (http://www.scalemodeladdict.com/forum/index.php/topic,4881.0.html)as there is a lot of gold in there and may help you avoid any unpleasant surprises.

I should get to lighting up mine in the next week or two. I will post videos on my approach when I get there.