Contest category debate

RocketSilo

Woah , my reply/opinion in a discussion... is the title of a new thread, started by me ?
I didn't start a debate on contest categorys ,, and I'm not the creater of this post

I'm fine with the system as it is ,

massa-vader.jpg

RocketSilo said:
If it's any consolation schweinhund,
I see the merit in your opinion concerning rusty battered models vs shiny flawless models .
I also see the issues that may cause.

I'm still a newb ,, I have recently been toying with rusting a weathering, and to me ,, It's a big difference .
You can let a lot slide when doing a beater, heck mistakes are almost a bonus !
but once boiled down, the techniques seem almost automated and simple if followed.I am getting some amazing results with a low amount of effort by simply following tried and true techniques.

compared to laboring over a pristine finish were mistakes are often fatal and have to be stripped and re done., flawless in every way.perfectly photographed and nary a speck of dust.
From my newb standpoint, you get a lot of bang for that rusty dirty buck.

that said there are also the truly masterful weathered models that obviously took a serious amount of effort to pull off.And deserve every bit of praise for the accomplishment and mind blowing realism.

however that's just My experience and opinion so far ,
but as Ken and others mention, where is the line? how do you categorize levels of damage rust and weathering ? where dust a simple dusty vehicle fit?..It would be near impossible to judge.
It's your opinion but I fully agree. I did both types of cars and doing rusty beat up car is easier than a shinny one. But that doesn’t mean that you don’t need to put a lot of effort to make the rusty one look realistic.
Cheers

Personally, a car, is a car, is a car. Doesn't matter whether it has a high gloss finish, or a rusty battered finish, it is still a car.