[COMPLETED] Trumpeter 1/35 USMC LAV-AT "Operation Desert Storm"

Carsenault

I wasnt gonna enter this in any gb but I found out this morning that the USMC LAV-ATs were deployed during ODS, I decided to enter this in this GB as well as the ODS GB at www.arcair.com. I won the kit off the door prize table at a hobby show last summer, not something I would normally build, but it looked different and interesting enough to want to try it out. I was really impressed with the kit when I opened it up. After talking to Scott from Elm City Hobbies about it I found out that Trumpeter was about to release a Canadian LAV-III kit. I bought that kit yesterday from Scott. Now I have never built any armor before so I was gonna use the LAV-AT as a practice run for the more complex and detailed LAV-III kit. When I found out about these being used in ODS I figured why not include it in the GB.

I started this last night and I was very pleased to see how smoothly everything went together. Without a cockpit to build, paint detail and fit before closing up the fuselage, this went together much faster than all the aircraft I am use to. I had the lower hull completed in no time so I decided to start the upper hull before calling quits for the night. Here's where I am at now.

LAV-AT003.jpg

LAV-AT002.jpg

LAV-AT001.jpg

Re: [WIP] Trumpeter 1/35 USMC LAV-AT "Operation Desert Storm"

Looking great Charlie.

It's really cool to see you (and others, myself included) taking on a new scale and genre. The only thing that can come of it is a good stretching of technique and ability. I really am looking forward to watching this one.

Looking great! Awesome choice!

Ferris828 said:
Looking great! Awesome choice!

I agree. Excellet choice for a vehicle. Sharp looking kit.

I finished the major assembly earlier tonight. I havent finished building a kit that fast in ages. Some time over the weekend Ill start painting and post a few more pics. This does look sharp.