Airbrush Basics.....

phoenix

Ok...so I've been building models since I was a kid...but recently, after trying to recreate certain paint effects with rattlecans, and beginning experimentation with pigments, I realize I need an airbrush. I have very little knowledge on airbrushes and airbrush paints...so, in layman's terms, I would really appreciate advice! I'm basically looking for an easy-to-learn airbrush that will mostly be for solid or two-tone exterior paint on vehicles, and some detail later on (needle sizes?). Also would like to know if certain airbrushes prefer enamels/lacquers... I have been on Badger's website, but the terms and lingo are a bit confusing at times.

Also, what about compressors? And lastly, how does the paint/overspray/toxic cloud react to the environment (in other words, will I make my husband high on paint fumes)? I'm a bit tired of painting outside on the cold patio, where bugs are attracted to my paint...

A veritable butt-load of questions there. You are really asking for a Primer on airbrushing (maybe we'll write one someday), but for what its worth...

Airbrush:

Long answer: Airbrushes are either gravity feed or siphon feed, and either single action or dual action.

Gravity feed means the paint is in a cup and gravity pulls the paint down in. Siphon feed the paint is in a cup or jar with a straw and is drawn up into the gun by siphon action. Gravity works better, and is easier to clean. Only advatages with siphon is you can have a HUGE jar of paint, or several jars to swap color in a single paint session. For scale model work, hands down gravity feed is best.