3D printing custom parts

mannloon

Hello people. I am super new, but I have tried to look around and haven't seen anything on exactly what I wish to ask all of you. I am a very novice scale modeler, and have recently returned/basically started making 1/35 armor models. But I make 3D models for a living in Maya and 3DS max.

I am curious if it has been tried to make custom parts similar to these resin parts I see on ebay via shapeways.com. I am foolishly working on something like 7 panzer models simultaneously in my off time, sort of learning and trying things out, so I don't really have anything in mind to make for myself. As I said I'm new at this.

So I would be willing to experiment with someone who did need a part that simply wasn't available, or wasn't quite right in the form it was available. Or is too expensive...you know whatever. I am unsure if the proper kind of styrene or plastic is offered on their site, but I would imagine something is that would work.

The idea then is that if someone wants to contact me through here, and discuss the needed piece, I would then 3D model it to scale. I would then give them the file, so that they could order it through the site, and test out the process. I would assume from what I know of most scale model parts it would be pretty simplistic on it's own, unless it was like a turret or something. I would do other scales or objects, armor is just my favorite. I dabble in 1/48 aircraft as well.

Not looking to get paid, just want to test out the process in case I get good enough at painting and weathering (right now still using enamels/brushes and suck big time) that I keep this up and want to customize my own stuff. If this has been tried before my apologies, I looked up 3D printing on the forum and didn't see any 3D modelers trying to make custom parts. I don't now how quickly I could model something up for someone, depends on the part and my free time.