1/48 bandai x-wing - FINISHED with video

astroboy

I had so much fun with the small one I thought I would try the big brother. This thread will be a WIP thread so please feel free to criticize. I'm new at this but I'd like to get better.

The big difference with my approach this time is using a black primer instead of a grey one. I'm a bit worried right now about the seams. They are a bit large

Re: 1/48 bandai x-wing

Looks you're off to a good start. Is this the new Bandai kit or an older MPC/Ertl kit? I know the new bigger Bandai kit is supposed to have motorized wings.

I'm in the middle of the 1:72 kit... Would you say the 1:48 is the same quality of fit and detail?
I'm patiently waiting for the unlit (cheaper) 1:48 kit.

Yours is coming along nicely.

DRHarris61,
This is the new Bandai kit, you can tell from the electric bits in the first pic

This one is looking pretty sharp already

Scrach said:
I'm in the middle of the 1:72 kit... Would you say the 1:48 is the same quality of fit and detail?
I'm patiently waiting for the unlit (cheaper) 1:48 kit.

Yours is coming along nicely.
Thanks. I would prefer one without motorized wings too. This one goes together a bit differently. The entire thing gets built around the motor, so in may ways, it's a lot simpler. I love the way then wings clip right on the the armature.

I. Also wish they wouldn't bother with having so many colored sections for the hull. It looks a bit like a transformer. Hopefully the weathering will hide those seams

astroboy said:
What do you guys think about my base coat? Is it too white?

Nah, its ok because its going to be weathered anyway. Its how I would do mine!

Looking nice so far. Looks like it goes together rather quickly for a lit and motorized version. How would you say it is on detail accuracy?

Hagoth said:
Looking nice so far. Looks like it goes together rather quickly for a lit and motorized version. How would you say it is on detail accuracy?