1/35 Italeri Sd.Kfz 234/3 8 Wheeled Armored Car

pingvuiini

While waiting for other projects to dry and/or cure I quickly slapped together Italeri's 1/35 Sd.Kfz 234/3 8 wheeled armored car with 75mm howitzer. A very fast OOB build that took less than a day even with a major goof. This is my first time with this type of vehicle and I errantly glued the reverse driver's seat in the middle of the floorboard instead of off to the right like it should be. By the time I realized my error the seat was permanently set, so I decided to glue the steering wheel and shift stick for central positioning too. There was a spare suspension strut loose among the parts and I used that to fill the hole where the reverse steering column would be and then hung a canteen off the other end for a handy drink holder. I then realized that the reverse drivers visor had to be moved to the center, so I modified the visor and filled the big window gap with putty. It's all quite ridiculous I know ::) but in the end it didn't turn out all that bad. Another positive from this crazy episode is that I feel I am becoming more adventurous and confident with scratchbuilding and figuring out creative solutions when things go wrong.

I wanted to primer the whole thing in red brown primer but the nozzle got clogged so I ended up doing a two tone primer coat. I am thinking about experimenting using a much lighter green than the usual panzer colors because when I do my excessive weathering it darkens things a lot so maybe the lighter color will sort of counter that.

I am also going to cut off the thick antennae in favor of a thinner stretched sprue type.

Anyways, pics:

SdKfz2343PrimerFrt02Web.jpg

SdKfz2343PrimerRear01Web.jpg

SdKfz2343PrimerFrt03Web.jpg

SdKfz2343PrimerSide01Web.jpg

SdKfz2343PrimerRear03Web.jpg

SdKfz2343PrimerTopFrt01Web.jpg

SdKfz2343PrimerTopRear02Web.jpg

SdKfz2343PrimerTopFrt03Web.jpg

SdKfz2343PrimerTopSide02Web.jpg

SdKfz2343PrimerTopRear03Web.jpg